top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha Mikietyn

Interview Special: Stephanie Anani



In celebration of Black History Month, today we're hearing from Stephanie Anani - an outstanding graduate, holding a First Class Honours degree in Mehchanical Engineering.


When did your passion for STEM begin and what drew you to this vocation?


When I was growing up, I was not the smartest kid in the class. In fact, I was far from it. I really struggled to understand most concepts and moved at a slower pace than the rest of my peers. I eventually got a maths tutor who focused on special needs students and had a way of making even the most complicated calculations seem simple. His phenomenal teaching skills, coupled with my desire to learn got me very excited about solving problems. This desire transcended from my academics into my hobbies: In my spare time, I worked my way through puzzle books and was obsessed with the Discovery Channel show. I knew I loved solving problems which is what drew me to a career in engineering and now technology.


Is there anything you have achieved that you are particularly proud of and why?


I am most proud of my ability to teach and inform people in a way that is easy for them to digest. I think this is crucial because so many people see STEM as a black box. I feel fulfilled when I can solve complicated problems and show other people how to get there. Doing this throughout my career excites me so much!


As a black woman, what are some of the obstacles you have had to overcome in the industry?


Being a woman in STEM is already hard but being a Black woman in STEM can oftentimes be confusing. Sometimes I don't know whether people react a certain way because I am black, a woman or just crazy. And quite honestly, overthinking these things can lead to an unproductive spiral. Instead, I focus on having people around me who I trust and respect, and who can give me an unbiased opinion about a situation. I focus on being reflective and use that as a substitute for overthinking everyone's actions and reactions towards me.


What do you think could be done to promote more inclusivity in STEM?


More inclusivity comes with more representation. And it is important to highlight that representation is not just a percentage; representation is influence. Simply put, to promote inclusivity in STEM, we need to have people who can represent marginalised groups of people in positions where they have decision making power.


Has your involvement in STEM changed your outlook on anything, and was this a positive or negative experience?


Everything I have shared in this interview is thoughts that have been shaped by my experiences over the last few years. I have gotten the pleasure of speaking to some phenomenal women in STEM – they have really inspired me to push myself and keep going. I have also encountered people who have tried to pull me and other women down – this really did not phase me but gave me a better idea of human behaviour that has enabled me to tackle even more challenging social issues.


What are some of the major benefits of pursuing a career in STEM, and what advice would you give to those just beginning their journey?


STEM is exciting, fundamental but still ever-changing. The amount of flexibility I have is unreal! Yes, it is hard, but there is always room to find what you enjoy technically and contribute to what you care about socially. If you are just starting, ensure you are always refining where you see yourself in the future and base this on your experiences. And the more experiences you have, the more effectively you can do this. Expose yourself to as much as you can and constantly reflect on those experiences. Remember, exposure is not limited to an internship. There is an unlimited amount of exposure just at the click of a button. Don't wait for it to come to you: Go to it!

157 views0 comments
bottom of page